Sock Day!

January 17, 2008 at 3:57 pm 2 comments

It’s snowing like WHOA! outside, I’m cooped up with the kids, and The Rotund just posted up a review of some socks from Sock Dreams, so I figure I’ll hop on the bandwagon and declare it Sock Day!

It’s excellent timing, really, because I ordered three pair from Sock Dreams a few weeks ago, thanks to TR’s favorable reviews, and just wore the third pair the other day, so now I can comment on all of them. Yay me!

First off, my deets: I’m 5’4″ tall, and am slightly long-legged, but not crazily so. I wear a size 8-8.5 shoe, and my calf at the widest part is… I wanna say just under 18 inches around. I think that’s right, but I can’t be arsed to go find a tape measure at the moment. If someone is super-curious, say the magic word and I’ll figure it out again.

Electric Striped Knee Highs – Of the pairs I got, these are my favorites. They’re super-soft (6% cashmere – yum!), warm (31% wool!), and I love the stripes. I got the Lime colorway, and for all that they’re expensive as hell, I’m fighting hard to resist the urge to order myself another pair. They’re a bit long on me – I wound up folding them a couple inches at the top, but I’m totally fine with that. They stretched all right over my calf, but it was a bit of a struggle to pull them up, so I think anyone whose calf is much larger than mine might have a tough time with them. Once up, however, they stayed up all day and were nice and cushiony – the fabric is a nice medium weight, about on pair with regular sport socks, or the socks I might knit myself.

Sock It To Me Skulls and Stripes – I really like these socks. Come on – they’ve got skulls on them! They’d have to totally suck for me to not like them!

Luckily, they don’t suck. They accommodate my calf just fine (though like with the Electric Stripe socks, I get the feeling I’m coming close to the outer limit of their elasticity) and stayed up all day no problem. That said, they’re thinner than I generally prefer – much more a trouser sock-type weight – and because I was stretching them so much width-wise, they were juuuuust long enough to reach my knee. I got the grey and black colorway, and am pretty happy with them.  (75% cotton, 20% nylon, 5% spandex)

Dreamy Knees – Overall, I like these socks and will certainly wear them again. However, I am not sure I will buy any more, despite them coming in some really great colors (I got the Sweet Pea colorway). They’re comfortable, in fact I liked the feel of the fabric on these socks much more than I liked the fabric on the skull socks. However, thanks to the much higher spandex content, by the time I wore these for a few hours, the ankles had gotten pretty baggy. The feet were also really loose on me, and so combined with the bagginess of the ankles, when I took off my shoes the feet of the socks tried to slide off with them. Which is too bad, because these stretched nicely over my calf and, perhaps in part because they were longer than my leg and so I wound up folding over the tops again, stayed up without a problem. (80% cotton, 20% spandex)

So, there you have it. Unintentionally I’ve listed these socks in order of preference, from my favorite to least favorite. But even my “least favorite” pair I like pretty darn well – certainly well enough to keep wearing them.

Also note, these reviews are all after one wearing, so I can’t comment regarding durability or how well these socks perform over time yet. I suppose that will have to be another post. 🙂

Hmm. Maybe it’s time to put in a new Sock Dreams order….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Lose a bunch of weight, get nominated for President Mom’s Birthday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  January 18, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Actually it’d be the cotton in the Dreamy Knees rather than the spandex; spandex keeps its shape really well, but cotton will stretch and shrink and do all kinds of crazy things and stay there.

    The more you know! (Here from The Rotund, by the way.)

    Reply
  • 2. ChiaraG  |  January 24, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Hey, just wanted to say thanks for your comment over on SP.
    I’m amazed at how much this is affecting me now that I’m ruminating on it, whereas at the doc’s I was like, oh, she’ll be fine. I told my husband I feel like I just got a D on a midterm of my most important job right now: Feeding The Baby. (I’m the kind of nerd where that’s really significant!) I just never wanted weight to be an issue in her life – at least she’s too young to know now. But it’s gonna be all good – it won’t hurt to offer food more and not rely on the breastmilk that’s in decline. I mean, kids are the most natural eaters there are, right? If they’re hungry, they eat. If they don’t want it, you can’t make them eat it. No social craziness interfering.
    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


