Fatties vs Mittens: Fatties WIN!!!

October 13, 2009 at 7:19 pm 4 comments

Hey! Lookit that! I have a blog! Let’s warm up with something fun, shall we?

Y’all, seriously, I read this a couple days ago, and I was absolutely positive that this was one of those rare, hilarious times when The Onion prints something and somebody mistakes it for legitimate news. Turns out though? I was wrong!

There really is a story circulating about how us fatties are “threatening the mitten industry!” Now, The Rotund already did a nice takedown of it, but I gotta say, Mr. Thornacious and I have been having a right good laugh over this for days, and it still hasn’t gotten old.

Now, just for reference here – I’m the sort of person who gets cold in mid-September and stays that way until mid-April. I started wearing wool socks two weeks ago, and today we did the annual tearing apart of the house in search of last winter’s accessories.

Meanwhile, Mr. Thornacious is one of those weird dudes you occasionally see wandering around in shorts when there’s snow on the ground. He’ll be hanging around the house in shorts and a t-shirt while I’m contemplating what layer to add next.

So Monday morning when we were taking our kids to school, I was wearing wool socks, a fleece jacket, a wool hat and wishing I’d been able to find some of my wool mittens, while he was wearing shorts, two short-sleeved shirts and a fleece vest.

Thus began a whole crazy conversation about how obviously Mr. Thornacious was on the front lines in our Evil Fatty attack on the mitten industry, and was even working on our next objectives, the pant and sleeve industries!!!

Bwah Ha Ha ha HA!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

YOU and me on Fat Acceptance

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon Russell  |  October 13, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Don’t have time to read, but I shall be back. Your headline rocked my socks off. Thank God I have fat feet.

    Peace,
    Shannon

    Reply
  • 2. Thorn  |  October 14, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    Thanks, Shannon!

    I should have mentioned – the headline is a riff on a children’s book my kids have called “Dinosaur vs. Bedtime” by Bob Shea. Totally cute book.

    Reply
  • […] been chuckling at the many blog posts on the absurd AOL Shopping piece on how fat people are, wait for it…. DOOMING the […]

    Reply
  • 4. raymondj  |  November 5, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    thanks for commenting on fry butter — I came over to read you, and I can’t believe I missed this ridiculous mitten story from before! ugh. and the salt in the wound for me is that I’m sure AOL paid some $7.50 to write that terrible article.

    you should keep blogging! i mean, in between raising your kids. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


